Posted in Databases on April 1, 2009 | Leave a Comment »
WIT Libraries currently has trial access to over 320 individual ebook titles from OVID in the area of Nursing and Health Sciences.
This collection features a wide range of titles in multiple nursing sub-specialities, including surgery, administration, paediatrics, diagnosis, palliative care and more. Also included is the ‘Made Incredibly Easy! series of reference books covering [...]
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on March 4, 2009 | Leave a Comment »
With thanks to the funding provided by the Department of Nursing, the library is delighted to announce some significant developments with the electronic resources and research tools in the area of Nursing.
CINAHL
WIT’s subscription to CINAHL, available through EBSCO, is now supplemented with significant amount of full-text access to research and articles from the Index. The [...]
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on January 13, 2009 | Leave a Comment »
With thanks to the national work undertaken at the level of the Head Librarians of all Institutes of Technology, WIT has been granted access to two exciting new research resources for our research community.
Academic Search Premier
From EBSCO, the providers of Business Source Premier, comes Academic Search Premier; a comprehensive, multi-subject research database, which provides access to [...]
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on November 12, 2008 | Leave a Comment »
Please note:
We have been informed that Science Direct will be unavailable on Saturday, November 15th from 1.00pm-10.00pm (approx). This is due to scheduled maintenance. Apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on October 20, 2008 | Leave a Comment »
WIT Libraries now has trial on-campus access to the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, available through Proquest and CSA. The trial lasts until 6th November 2008.
Avery Index provides listings of research and journal articles on Architecture and Design. Widely regarded as the premier index for Architecture research, Avery Index also covers historical architecture, as well [...]
Read Full Post »
DID YOU KNOW?
You can now simultaneously search for literature and research papers on ERIC and Omnifile Full TextMega through the H.W. Wilson platform.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database lists citations and abstracts from 1,000 educational journals and resources. An ideal resource if you’re looking for research papers for your assignment or dissertation in your [...]
Read Full Post »
WIT Libraries has one month trial access to INSPEC through ISI Web of Knowledge, until 17 October 2008.
INSPEC is “a comprehensive index to the global journal and proceedings literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, and information technology.”
The database provides citation access to over 3,850 scientific and technical journals, some 2,000 conference proceedings, and numerous [...]
Read Full Post »
WIT Libraries now provides off-campus access to
Web of Knowledge using your ATHENS account
Your ATHENS account provides access to most of WIT Libraries’ Databases when you’re working off-campus.
We’re delighted to be able to now provide access to Web of Knowledge, which incorporates Web of Science, through the ATHENS scheme, meaning you can search for even more literature and research [...]
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on September 5, 2008 | Leave a Comment »
Noticed a change with the look and feel of SportDiscus?
Wondering why CINAHL is no longer available through OVIDSP?
WIT Libraries now provides access to CINAHL and SPORTDiscus through EBSCO, the hosting database provider. This change is as a result of industry wide changes with both databases.
While the look of CINAHL and SPORTDiscus has changed, the functions [...]
Read Full Post »
Need a username and password to access research databases like Wiley InterScience, Science Direct or ABI/Inform?
Not sure how to access Emerald, or Business Source Premier, or CINAHL?
For most of our research databases, if you’re working on-campus, you won’t need a username and password to search for articles, citations, and other electronic content.
If you’re working from [...]
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on August 7, 2008 | Leave a Comment »
WIT Libraries, with thanks to the Strategic Planning office in the Institute, is delighted to provide access to selected resources within SourceOECD, from the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development.
Among the resources available are:
SourceOECD Urban, Rural and Regional Development
SourceOECD Education
SourceOECD Employment and Labour Markets
OECD Science, Tecnology and R&D Statistics
To access SourceOECD on-campus, visit the WIT [...]
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on July 17, 2008 | Leave a Comment »
We are pleased to announce that the access issues with Science Direct have been resolved and it is now up and running again.
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on June 30, 2008 | Leave a Comment »
Regular users of Blackwell Synergy might notice a significant change to the database the next time they search for articles on a range of subjects, including health science, business, social sciences, and more.
Blackwell Synergy has been rebranded and redesigned and is now part of the Wiley InterScience platform.
Wiley InterScience will still contain a wealth of articles, many [...]
Read Full Post »
If you’ve been accessing WIT Libraries’ range of online resources off-campus, then you’ve been using your ATHENS username and password.
Please note that you must now renew your ATHENS username and password for the upcoming academic year. This will grant you continued access to our range of databases and online resources if you’re doing research or [...]
Read Full Post »
Posted in Databases on February 19, 2008 | Leave a Comment »
WIT Libraries now has access to
Omnifile Full Text .
If you’re doing an essay, or an assignment, or some research in Education, Sciences, Humanities, Social Sciences or Business, why not search Omnifile Full Text for access to over 4000 article abstracts, full-text papers or images.
You can access Omnifile Full Text from WIT Libraries’ Database Page. If [...]
Read Full Post »